And He had been fasting…

And he had been fasting… 🌷as-Sirri bin Yahya al-Binani narrated:

A young man once went out to fight seeking to become martyred, but he was not granted martyrdom. One day, while he was with his companions, he went to take a nap in a nearby canopy. When it was time to pray Dhuhr, his companions went to wake him up. When he awoke, he began crying so intensely that his friends thought that something had happened to him. When he saw this, he said to them: “Nothing is wrong with me.” Then, he narrated to them what had happened: 

“Rather, what happened was that while I was asleep, a man came to me and said: ”Let us go visit your wide-eyed wife.“ So, I got up went with him to a white piece of land – so white and pure. We arrived at a garden, the likes of which I had never seen before. Sitting in this garden were ten young women with beauty the likes of which I had never seen before. I hoped that this wife he had told me about would be one of these women, so, I asked them: ”Is the wide-eyed one among you?“ They replied: ”She is within close reach, and we are her servants.“ 

So, I continued with my companion to another garden that was more beautiful than the one we had just left, with twenty young women sitting in it who were more beautiful than the ten that we had just left, and I hoped that my wife would be one of them. I asked them: ”Is the wide-eyed one among you?“ They replied: ”She is within close reach, and we are her servants.“ 

We continued until we arrived at a large domed building made of red rubies that was surrounded by light, so, my companion told me to enter. So, I entered to find a woman whose light outshone that surrounding the domed building. I sat and spoke with her for an hour.

Suddenly, my companion told me to get up and leave. I could not disobey him, so, I got up and began to leave. The woman grabbed at the edge of my cloak and said: ”Stay and break your fast with us tonight!“ At that point, you woke me up to pray, and when I realized that it was just a dream, I began to cry.”

As soon as he finished narrating his story, the call was made to mount the horses and head to the battlefield. As soon as the Sun had set – the time for the one fasting to break his fast – he was killed, and he had been fasting.“

Leave a Reply

